Hillwalking et cetera

Journeys in the hills and mountains

Glen Shiel, 15th-17th April 2011

In between Duke of Edinburgh trips (to Snowdonia and the Lake District) I made the most of three spare days to nip up to Glen Shiel for a solo trip. I stayed in Fort William hostel on the way up, before spending two nights in SYHA Ratagan. On Friday I climbed A Chralaig and Mullach Fraoch-Choire. I’d seen this ridge two summers previously from the adjacent munros, and wasn’t disappointed. The ridge between the two peaks is not far, a couple of kilometres, but is narrow and rocky in places. It fell short of being a scramble, but it was nevertheless an excellent ridge. My main objective for the trip was the South Shiel Ridge, seven munros in total. I parked my car at the Glen Shiel battle site on Saturday morning and then caught the bus (an exorbitant £6.90 single) up to the Cluanie Inn from where I began my walk. The weather varied throughout the day, but I generally had views from each summit, at least in one direction, though I did almost head off the ridge by accident in one misty moment. At the seventh munro I met two men from Exeter on a Stag weekend, and two Glaswegians who had joined them at Cluanie. We all walked down together, and I leant my poles to one of the Exeter men whose knee was causing him some difficulties. The result was a free dinner in the Cluanie Inn, most gratefully accepted! Feeling tired on Sunday I decided to do a short walk and so drove up Glen Quoich to do Sgorr a’Mhaoraich. Ten munros in three days is not a bad tally, though given that seven of these was on one day it perhaps should have been higher: if only I’d had the energy to do the North Shiel ridge…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 22 April 2011 by in Hillwalking.
